Conscious Thoughts 19

Homeless: Where the fuck are they supposed to go?

I saw a homeless man at McDonald’s. He must have been one of the oldest people in the restaurant (not that he was very old). I also saw a sign limiting patrons to 30 minutes to eat their food in the establishment. I can’t help but wonder if it was mostly meant for people like him. I left the McDonald’s and as I walked down the street, I saw fences with locked gates at many apartment buildings I passed. I can’t help but wonder if they are mostly meant for people like him. I saw a “No Loitering” and “No Trespassing” sign posted on the exterior of a church. I can’t help but wonder if it was meant mostly for people like him.

Is civilization just a tool that some people use to wage non-violent forms of war against their fellow man?

That older homeless man was on this Earth before many of us. Why does he still have no place to sleep? Isn’t it because other people are taking all the places by non-violent means and if he attempts to occupy those places, all of society will be obligated to repel him by any means necessary? Is that any different than “might makes right”? It is just financial might in this case.

Leave a Reply

